Laundry room ramblings

Standard

Between the fire alarms and alarm clocks, I never have time to write for myself. Work and school take up 90 percent of my time while the little sliver I have left is dedicated to my social life. Yeah, my social life is small. Don’t judge.

I feel like life has turned a 180 on me. I look back at last year, and I am simply amazed. God has obviously worked in my life. Never in my wildest thoughts would I have imagined that I would be sitting in my dorm laundry room writing a blog. I was unaware that any of the things that have taken place would have ever happened at all.

So, here I sit at a Formica blue table listening to the dryer hum as I wait for my towels. Doors are slamming, but people are quiet for the most part. It is Friday night after all, so the majority has already hit the party scene.

Before I could put my fingers to the keys tonight, the fire alarm went off in my building. I was merely thankful I was awake for this one instead of grudgingly sliding out of bed half asleep.

Usually, I am seething when the fire alarm goes off. It always disrupts something I am trying to accomplish such as this blog post for instance. However, this time I grabbed my brown leather jacket and walked outside. Since it’s not really winter, it’s not terribly cold. Actually,  it is bearable so I didn’t mind. I hate standing with the crowd so I ventured down the sidewalk to a quieter spot. I stood and I thought.

I love my new life here at MTSU. I truly do. But as I have just finished one incredible week, I find myself missing simple things.

I miss…

  •  having a window that opens in my bedroom.
  • my church family.
  • all the people I left back home.
  • taking naps every day after school.
  • sleeping in late.
  • playing a sport.
  • seeing my best friends every day, all day.
  • having time to read a book.
  • writing for myself.
  • random trips on Saturdays.

And to be honest, that’s about all I miss for the time being. It’s a pretty short list compared to a lot of others I make. In hindsight, I am one blessed girl if that is all I am lacking in life.

We all want the past to the extend, but I am really looking forward to the future. Right now, my future consists of a laundry buzzer and folding towels.  Oh, college life.

Leave a Reply

