Christmas Eve Insomnia

Standard

Another Christmas is upon us, and Santa is already making his stops around the globe. But before Christmas ever comes, we have to have Christmas Eve. Growing up, Christmas Eve was one of my least favorite days of the year. I’ve always had a problem on December 24. A problem I still can’t remedy at 18.

I can remember Christmas Eves where I was a small body of angst. The day was full of so much anticipation. What was I going to get from my mom and dad? Most importantly, what was I going to get from Santa? Time went slower on Christmas Eve than it did any other day of the year. That just drove me up a wall.

I remember vividly in the third grade I tried to do all sorts of physical activities all day to tire myself out. I did push-ups, and I did toe-touches. I did sit-ups too and don’t think I didn’t run around my house all day long. The bad thing was that just made matters worse.

I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning, and I slept in the floor of my parent’s bedroom on an air mattress that felt like all the air just kept being sucked out. My aunt and uncle came to see us for the first time in years, and all the sleeping arrangements got thrown off kilter.

However, all I could do was lay there with anticipation prying my eyes open until two in the morning. We had a strict rule in my house. I couldn’t leave my parents bedroom until they came to get me on Christmas morning. If I tried to slip into the living room, Santa wouldn’t come, which would be devastating.

Somehow, I don’t think this year would be any different. I’ve tried different tactics over the years to get myself to fall asleep on Christmas Eve. I’ve tried listening to classical music. I’ve tried counting sheep. I’ve tried laying in bed since eight o’clock in the evening. Nothing has ever worked.

Nothing is going to work this year either. I ended up watching movies until four this morning, and I’ve slept in until ten thirty. Not to mention, I have taken an hour nap today.

Going to sleep tonight won’t be easy. I still hope Santa comes. Maybe I should leave out those milk and cookies after all.

Leave a Reply

