Not Required Reading List

Standard

Books, books, and more books

It is time yet again for my winter reading marathon. The time of year where I set my stack of books down by the fireplace in the living room and start to read. I am not gonna lie. I cannot wait. I must prepare myself, however, for this intense marathon by figuring out what I am going to read.

All semester, I have read textbooks, different pieces of literature, and what feels like useless bits of information that I simply don’t need to know. In only a matter of a few days, I can sit in my snowman pajamas with out a stitch of makeup on, and I can transfer myself from reality into another world entirely.

Winter Reading List

1)Steven Tyler–Does the Noise in my Head Bother You?

I bought this book way back in the summer before I moved on to college world. I was told before I buy that I shouldn’t read it because some of the content can get a little explicit. Oh, who am I kidding here. It’s Steven Tyler. Some of it probably gets very explicit. Nonetheless, he is dynamic person I believe, and someone I wouldn’t mind knowing more about.

2) Ellen Hopkins–Perfect

 Surprisingly enough, Hopkins came out with two different books in about a month and half. I have been wanting to read this one since I bought the book six days after it release in hardback. She is one of my favorites since she writes in prose, which is different from every other author I have read. Perfect  is about four different people who all are being driven to perfection. I guess my perfectionist ways are driving me to read this book. We shall see.

3) Ellen Hopkins–Triangles

 This book is Hopkins’ first adult book. Up until now, she is solely written teenage fiction. I am interested to see the voice she has in this novel.

4) Sara Shepard–Ruthless

 Before I went off to college, I fell in love with the Pretty Little Liars book. After being in obsessed with the TV show, I figured the books had to be better. The books are better in some ways. There are pros and cons to the books and the show. However after going through the first nine books in 11 days, I have been waiting in anticipation to see what happens next. Hopefully, Santa will bring this book down the chimney with him. Perhaps, he will lay it prop it under my tree.

5) Rick Bragg–The Prince of Frogtown

As much as love his writing, I do not own all of his books. It’s quite sad actually. If I don’t receive this book for Christmas, I am definitely walking into Barnes and Noble to scour the shelves for this book. What I didn’t know is that this book is a saga, and it completes the All Over But The Shoutin’ series. I cannot wait to read this book.

6) Craig Groeschel–WERID: Because Normal Isn’t Working

During my family vacation this year, I read one of Groeschel’s book in a matter of four hours. While browsing the bookstore the other day, I discovered he had a new book. It’s a MUST want. I always think to myself how I want my life to anything but normal or cliche’. I want to change my world for Christ. I am not sure I can stand out in the world if all I do is blend in with the rest world.

7) Todd Burpo–Heaven Is Real

Back in April after my grandmother died, one of my mother’s friends gave her that book. Before I could even read the back cover, my dad had already snatched it up and started reading it. After that, I just never got to get my hands on it. Now, I am dying to read it. Everyone has been talking about it, yet I haven’t read one word of it.

8 ) Kathyrn Stockett–The Help 

Just now, a commercial just came on for this book, and it makes me want to read it even more. I feel like everyone and their mother has read this book. It’s been laying on my desk at school for four months, and I haven’t even got to turn the first page. Even my own mother who has time do nothing but work managed to squeeze this book in her daily schedule. I want to read this book and watch the movie.

9) Suzanne Collins–The Hunger Games Trilogy

All my friends have read these books, and the movie comes out sometime in March. I feel like everyone but me has read these books. I want to read them more out of morbid curiosity to see what they are all about. Normally, I don’t like anything post-apocalyptic. Thinking about the end of the world matters doesn’t usually interest me. Must read before March. Hopefully, I can read them before I go back for the next of the semester.

10) David Platt–Radical

My youth pastor suggested me to read this book way back in July. I just never got my hands on a copy of this book. Oddly enough, when I met a new friend at school, she was reading this book. She too told me how much I needed to read it. Even though it’s at the bottom of the stack, I’ll definitely read it. It just might take awhile to get there.

13 books. One month. Think I can handle it?

One response »

Leave a Reply

