A Tale of Three Cities: A Christmas Tradition

Standard

Hello from the North Pole

Every year at Christmas, we have three different worlds all in the same household. Of course, it is like this every year, and now the trilogy is complete. This past weekend, we put up my so called world before I went back to school for my last 10 days.

I’ve had the North Pole in my room during the holidays as long as I can remember. Santa and his elves have been working hard on my dresser since 1993.  The Department 56 Christmas villages have been apart of my family since the 80’s, and between mine, my mother’s, and my grandmother’s, we have three different villages that reside on our tables, entertainment center, bookshelves, and dressers.

I really didn’t understand the point of anything breakable when I younger. If I couldn’t play with it, what was the point? I remember unwrapping Christmas villages to add to my collection over the years when I was younger. I never got excited, nor did I really care.

Mom's village

My tune since my seven-year-old days have changed of course, and I look forward to helping my mom set up our villages within our household. The tradition started way back when my great-aunt got my mom villages one Christmas. They are called the Dicken’s villages, and the city is set up in old England. I am guessing the 1700s. When I was younger I remember sitting in my living room, and I thought the people used to come alive at night. And when day time rolled around, they would freeze back up again in the same position. I eventually learned that was not the case at all.

I am not entirely sure when my grandmother started her collection. I can see from the boxes that different friends gave her some pieces, but for the most part I think my mom got them for her. Either that or she bought them on her own. Compared to my mother’s collection, hers is small with only about seven or eight pieces. Her collection is the New England collection, which is set up in colonial America.

Nanny's Village

When my grandmother still had her house, I remember they perched up on one of the tables in the living room. After my grandfather died, Nanny didn’t really decorate her house for Christmas. She spent 90 percent of her time here in our house since she lived right next store. However, that is one of the few things she would put up in her house at Christmas time before she officially moved into our house. This Christmas her village sits in the dinning room, and I helped mom put it up. While it makes me sad, it wouldn’t be Christmas without her villages too.

Out of all three of the collections, I have accumulated the most. Ever since I was born, mom started the collection of the North Pole. Even though I couldn’t really touch it or play with it, I still liked them in room sometimes. I especially like it at night when I laid down to go to bed. The glow from the lights lit up my room, and it just made Christmas seem even more real for me. What kid doesn’t like having the North Pole in their room? Over the years, I have collected 18 different pieces. As we were buying my newest addition, my mother told me she couldn’t believe she was still buying these. I have to agree with her. I can’t believe we still are buying them too, but it wouldn’t be Christmas without a new addition to the North Pole.

My village

Of all the ones we have, mine is my favorite. It truly captures the whole spirit of Christmas. I have my own elf land that sits on my bookshelf. On top of my dresser, the remaining villages sit. I have several different pieces ranging from Santa’s boarding house to the Naughty and Nice Center. I guess if I am not good,  Santa will catch me from my room I suppose.

Nonetheless, I hope this is a tradition that I continue with my own kid Lord willing. My family isn’t really huge. We don’t have that many concrete traditions. However, this is one tradition that is three generations worth. Maybe one day it will be four if I ever have my own daughter. Maybe the North Pole can live in her room too.

One response »

  1. Pingback: 17 Days To Christmas | Young's Blog

Leave a Reply

