The ultimate anchor

Standard

 

 

And it goes on and on and on and on...

I’ve got my toes in the water and toes in the sand and all I am lacking is a cold Sun Drop in my hand. I am at one of my favorite places in the world: the beach. However, every time I come, I always think about how big God really is.

The last time I was at the beach, my grandmother passed away back home, so I didn’t get a whole lot of just sitting and thinking time. This time, though, I will get several days to sit back and just think.

I am not sure what it is that causes me to be able to sit and stare blankly at something for just so long. I can sit and watch the ocean for hours until the sound of the waves becomes one big lullaby and gently puts me to sleep.

The ocean is my optimal thinking spot as I watch other people and let me toes sink deep down in the sand. I especially love watching the sun set and come up above across the horizon. It’s almost hypnotizing. But nonetheless, some of my best ideas of things have come from sitting and staring at the ocean. But as I sit, I usually think about how big the ocean is.

It goes on and on and on and on. It doesn’t stop for thousands of miles. It’s just so vast. Too vast for me to sometimes even comprehend. And you know, that’s how God feels sometimes. Too big to even fathom or imagine.

I read this book today for four hours straight on the way here. It’s called Christian Atheist. I bet you are thinking that’s a contradictory sort of title. But it is not completely. The books goes into grave detail about how we believe God is really there, yet we live our lives as though He doesn’t even exist.

Yeah. It’s a big thought to chew on, and it is going to take me awhile to absorb all that the book talks about. It does hit a lot of high notes though as it talks about our prayer life and what we level of a relationship we have with God.

The sun is finally setting at the beach now and the sky looks like shreds of cotton candy have sprinkled across it. And as the day draws to a close, I have come to realize something that for me is just as big as the ocean.

God doesn’t have to be fair. He is just.  God doesn’t have to always be understood. I’ve just got to learn to roll with it.  God is bigger than anything I could ever imagine. Bigger than the ocean of course.  God is my best friend. Yeah, the creator of the universe takes the time to love me out of all the other six billion people on this planet just like  He takes the time to love you too.

For months now, it seems like I am sort of out in the ocean being tossed around by the waves. Nothing really feels secure, and I perfectly aware everything in my life is about to change. In fact it is already is.

I realized though God will always be my anchor even when I live like He’s not there. He will always throw me a life preserver even when I don’t think I need it or I am strong enough to handle it all by my little big girl self. The book I read talked a lot about trust.

I rarely trust people here on earth, and yet  I still find trouble trusting the one entity that loves me more than anything. Before the craziness of my life begins again, I think I am going to grab onto that life preserver. Floating in the ocean just waiting for the waves to hit isn’t quite fun. I need to cling to an anchor, and who better to cling to that ultimate anchor of all.

2 responses »

  1. Another good post, Emily. I haven’t been watching the ocean, but I have been watching the Mississippi. Nothing like being on the riverside.

Leave a Reply

