Falling Down 101

Standard

Recently, I learned that I can sit myself into the bottom of the filing cabinet. The filing cabinet even tried to file me as the bottom drawer started rolling to a close.

However, I just didn’t decide to see if I can fit in a filing cabinet. No, I tripped or rather tripped over backwards and landed in the bottom drawer.

As I was reaching for a camera battery and memory card that was slightly out of my reach, and I tripped over backwards. The camera went flying and so did the battery.

Neither the camera nor the battery were damaged during such an incident, but my backside sure did hurt. Of course it had to be in front of people, but it was at least people that I know who love me.

Friday afternoon was a complete disaster of an afternoon as nothing was working out the way I wanted it.

I fall a lot of the time especially when I am stressed, and Friday was one of those days. My filing cabinet fall wasn’t the only one of the day either.

As I was scrambling to the board to erase something, I tripped on a tub of papers on the way back to my computer face first.

Most of the time I bounce right back up or I always try to anyways. Well, I didn’t bounce right up that one time I fell into the recycling bin. There was no bouncing out of the recycling bin. That actually required getting up slowly since I wedged myself into a small orange box full of papers.

However, we fall down. I fell down in life Friday too along with literally falling on my face. To say we are too balanced to fall down would not be true.

Everyone falls down in different ways though. Sometimes we might be the most balanced person in the world when it comes to walking, but behind the mask we hide behind everyday, we are unbalanced emotionally.  When we are unbalanced, we fall whether it be with our emotions, relationships, or literally.

It doesn’t matter how we fall; it matters how we get back up. Life is hard. There is not doubt about that. Edmund Vance Cooke says it best in his first stanza of his poem “How Did You Die?”

“Did you tackle that trouble that came your way
With a resolute heart and cheerful?
Or hide your face from the light of day
With a craven soul and fearful?
Oh, a trouble’s a ton, or a trouble’s an ounce,
Or a trouble is what you make it.
And it isn’t the fact that you’re hurt that counts,
But only how did you take it?”

Point is we are going to fall. We are going to get hurt. We might hurt so much our heart aches, and it just snowballs into even more problems. Our problems are bound to make us incredibly sad or so angry that it can’t be contained. Our attitudes mean everything, though. No one is entitled to a terrible attitude no matter what.

But no matter the problem, it is always going to revolve with how you take it.

If I didn’t get back every time I fell or landed in a filing cabinet or a recycling box, I wouldn’t learn anything. We are going to fall down. It’s what we learn from getting back up that matters.


2 responses »

    • Haha. It reallly did try to file me away. Thankfully, it was just a camera drawer. I am glad you enjoyed reading it. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

