Reflections

Standard

 

Time, which changes people, does not alter the image we have retained of them. ~Marcel Proust

It is so strange to think that in the past four years of high school I have changed into the person I am now. I was reading through all my old Facebook and MySpace messages and journals the other day and cringed.

After reading all of that I couldn’t help but be thankful I am still not like who I once was. It wasn’t a pretty picture to look at by any means. I am not the same.

Change is inevitable, and I will keep changing I am sure the older I get.  But I forget that I am not the only one changing. As time goes on, the people I interact with or have interacted with are changing too.

A couple of days I saw someone whom I had not seen in a year to a year in half. I used to be extremely close with this person. To spare all the ugliness, I am just going to say we went our separate ways. This didn’t exactly end well.

My first thought when I saw this person was to run and run very fast. My stomach curled, and I wanted to dissolve into the ground. I felt like a sitting duck just waiting to be shot down.

However, this duck swallowed her fear to go and talk. The little voice inside of my head wasn’t going to let me not say anything. After all, what’s the worst that could happen?

We passed pleasantries. Nothing bad took place. I escaped with all my feathers so to speak.

I felt uncomfortable. Very uncomfortable. My mind was racing, and all I could think of was the terrible memories that I will forever have.

I shouldn’t have felt uncomfortable, though. Because just like I am not the same person I was three years ago, neither was the person I ran into. That person has changed, and thankfully I can sense it’s for the better.

We have to give everyone the benefit of the doubt. Everyone deserves a second chance even the ones who have hurt us the most.

That doesn’t mean that some don’t leave an imprint on our heart because they do and always will. I have some footprints on my heart. Footprints that I wish had never ever treaded on my heart.

More than likely, we will see the people that hurt us for who they used to be.

Everyone changes at some point and not everyone stays the same. More importantly, everyone deserves a chance to redeem themselves.

God gives us grace and we don’t deserve it. We should at least make an effort to give others grace too. No one is perfect.

I hope the next time I see that person I have a better mindset.

I hope I see the good and the changes that have been made. I hope see that person for who they truly are now.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

