Helping feed 1100 people is quite the adventure

Standard

As I stepped outside my house this morning, I watched the ruby red leaves fall out of the trees, and I enjoyed the sunshine. I had no idea what to expect out of this day. I had never fed 1100 people before now.

Starting last year, my church began a Thanksgiving outreach meal to feed those that might not experience Thanksgiving any other way. I was definitely not as involved last year as I was just a mere hostess. However, my friend Katelyn and I wanted to be apart of experience this year. We wanted to help deliver meals.

And help deliver meals we did. We went to the assisted living to drop some meals off there, and then we made our way back to church to retrieve our route plan. Ragsdale Road? No, sweat. We got this. We loaded up our 29 meals and went on our way.

It didn’t take long to discover we didn’t have this. I was the leader of this excursion as I was the one driving. I missed every single house but one. I turned around in so many driveways. It was not so bad until one guy actually did notice we were turning around. That gentleman was actually rocking on his chair on the front porch when we turned around. He didn’t seem to mind, though.

Our sixth stop was where the adventure lived up to the full potential of the word. I missed the house five times. This wouldn’t have been a big deal if the people expecting the food weren’t outside waiting on us. I know they snickered and laughed a bit as my Camry zoomed by the fourth time. They even sent their son by bicycle to try to retrieve us. Thankfully, I turned in the correct driveway before he reached us.

All day long including this visit, I watched as these people expressed their gratitude. One elderly couple didn’t even know a meal was coming. Too add to that, one of them was partially deaf and the other partially blind. But aside from that, their tears of thankfulness spoke enough volumes.

It took us two hours to finish the trip, and we finally made our way back to town. It took some major effort including following the mailman until we were sure we were going the right way back to town. If we had not followed the mailman, I would still be driving I am sure of it.

This day taught me some much though other than the fact that I need a little help navigating. God blessed my life by letting me play a small part in helping today. More importantly, God blessed the lives of the people we reached today even if it was through a ham and a piece of pumpkin pie.

Leave a Reply

