God can speak through a Zac Brown Band song

Standard

This week has definitely not been what I would call a good week, but it could have been worse. I received all sorts of words. Hateful ones, encouraging ones, angry ones, etc. You can name any type of words, and I have had them said to me in some way this week. However, I think everything happens for a reason.

Towards the end of my week, I received one huge reality check. It was said kindly but that didn’t necessarily mean I liked all of what was said. I wasn’t angry rather just boggled. I was not sure how I was going to approach all the different obstacles I knew I would be facing.

I have thought and thought. Eaten some Mexican (three times) and even biked a mile with my dog. I accomplished an economics project with my friends and hung out. And, somehow I ended up at Wal-Mart.  I wasn’t even planning on going. I had no reason for going but my friend did. She needed yarn. She crochets.

This is where Zac Brown comes in. I ventured into the music section and splurged. I bought five different CDs, and I honestly had intended to keep the new Zac Brown album for my mother for Christmas. That didn’t happen. I can’t buy presents that far in advance and keep them hidden. I get too excited for that.

I gave my mom the two albums I bought her and loaded them. The first song on the album is “Let It Go.” Now, Zac Brown Band is definitely not a Christian band by any means. I mean whiskey is one of their favorite words that they use within their songs, and occasionally a cuss word might slip in a lyric or two.

But Zac Brown has a point within the sweet melody he plays. In “Let It Go” he sings this:

“And know you’re not the only ship out on the ocean
Save your strength for things that you can change
Forgive the ones you can’t
You gotta let ’em go”

I sat there and thought. Hm. Zac Brown has a point here. Then in the next verse he says something that kept my attention. He sang this one simple sentence.

“But you only get once chance at life to leave your mark upon it”

God gets our attention in really weird ways. It took a reality check and a Zac Brown song to get my attention. Within the New Testament God tells us to “Fear not” 127 times. Obviously, God is trying to say don’t be so scared. Why? Because God is there. Sometimes, I forget that I don’t make this walk alone. God is always there. He always will be and that’s what matters.

I can’t fix everything. I am not perfect. Only Jesus was perfect. No amount of stress or worry I place on myself will magically fix my problems. Only God has that power. So here I am. I am just gonna let it go as Zac Brown would say.

Leave a Reply

